Maintaining Momentum: Webinar on ICFP 2018 Faith Community Involvement

The faith community has realized impressive achievements in promoting family planning services and information since it met at the 2016 International Conference on Family Planning (ICFP). Please, join Faith to Action Network and Christian Connections for International Health on March 13th, 2018, for a discussion on the way forward and how to prepare for ICFP 2018 in Rwanda.

Webinar on: Tuesday, March 13, 2018 at 9:00 am EST, 15:00 CET, 17:00 EAT

The faith community made historic progress at the 2016 International Conference on Family Planning (ICFP) when 85 faith leaders from 26 nations came together for the first-ever Faith Pre-conference. They discussed best practices in faith-based involvement in family planning and committed to scaling up services to help families with healthy timing and spacing of pregnancies. Maintaining this momentum for the fifth ICFP scheduled for November 12-15, 2018 in Kigali, Rwanda is critical to keeping faith-based organizations on the forefront as crucial partners with governments and other NGOs.

Please join CCIH and the Faith to Action Network for a discussion on the progress made since 2016 and what we can do to prepare for ICFP 2018 in Rwanda. We will hear from:

The webinar will be moderated by Mona Bormet, MPH, CHES, Program Director for Christian Connections for International Health.

Register now and join us Tuesday, March 13 from 9:00 to 10:00 am EST, 15:00 to 16:00 CET, 17:00 to 18:00 EAT.

Register now

About the Speakers

Ahmed Ragaa A. Ragab, MD is a Professor of Reproductive Health at the International Islamic Centre for Population Studies and Research, Al-Azhar University in Egypt. He has extensive experience working in countries in crisis, such as Somalia, Eastern Chad, Iraq, Yemen and Afghanistan. Dr. Ragab has conducted research and contributed to books addressing family planning, reproductive health and gender issues from a faith perspective. He is the Vice Chairman of the Faith to Action Network, the Chairman of the Family Culture Committee of the Egyptian Family House and is a member of the FP2020 Reference Group.

Bicbic Chua is the Executive Director of Catholics for Reproductive Health (C4RH), an advocacy group that endeavors to bring Catholics into full harmony with their faith and their right to sexual and reproductive health. She also serves as the lead convenor for the Interfaith for Dignity and Equality Advancement and Solidarity (IDEAS). She is a member of the Gender and Development (GAD) Resource Pool of the Philippine Commission on Women (PCW)—accredited to provide technical assistance to government agencies and local government units on gender and development.

Peter Munene is the Chief Executive Officer of Faith to Action Network. He has 21 years’ experience in advocacy and implementation of programs targeting marginalized groups. Previously, he worked for African Network for the Prevention and Protection Against Child Abuse and Neglect (ANPPCAN) at its headquarters in Kenya and the Nigeria and Zambia Chapters. He also worked as Country Director for DSW Tanzania, an office he established, and later as its International Affairs Manager in charge of advocacy, Africa and Asia. Peter was involved in the founding of the Faith to Action Network, a global interfaith platform promoting family health and well-being and is its Chief Executive Officer (CEO). Together with CCIH and Muhammadiyah, they organized the first ever Faith Preconference at ICFP in 2016.

Sharing is caring!

Comments are closed.